New Flagpole Dedication

Due to the generosity of the Yarram RSL Sub-branch,  Blokes ‘n’ Banter, Yarram Lions Club and Yarram Apex Club, Yarram Secondary College  have received a new tri-flagpole to replace their old, outdated flagpoles. At a general assembly this morning, the flagpole was dedicated with a ceremony, including a speech by Shaun Braybrook from Wulgunggo Ngalu Learning Place on the meaning of the Koori flag, a speech about the Australian flag from RSL President, Rick Rogers, and an address from school Princiapl, David Mowbray. Guests were treated to a didgeridoo performance from the learning place residents as the school flag, Koori flag and National flag were unfurled. The unfurling of the flags was done by flag monitor Eboney Boast and School Captains, Jess Mattern and James Saliakos. The dedication finished with an a cappella rendition of Advance Australia Fair from Mackenzie Walker and Tayla Dwyer.


Posted in

Leave a Comment